Tools

Photogrammetry

Overcome the constraints of the environment through 3d modeling.

Exploration and acquisition of knowledge about our underwater heritage is confronted with the difficulty of access to the underwater world. The development of photography and computer technology now makes it possible to carry out large-scale field surveys using photogrammetry.

Based on the principle of stereoscopy, it is a matter of producing a 3D model resulting from the identification of peer points within a 2D photo set. The models offer a realistic representation with a maximum resolution level.

Detailed mapping

  • Modeling complex structures
  • Multi-scale approach
  • Architectural complexity research

 

Mesuring

  • Acquisition of multiple (distances, surface, volume) and complex metric data
  • Reliability and accuracy of measurement
  • Assessment of temporal trends

Advantages

  • Easy to implement
  • Reduced investigation time
  • Non-invasive method

Some of our previous work www.arpenteur.org

POLARIS platform

POLARIS is a technical and educational platform for the promotion and development of collaborative sciences.

Implemented in 2016, POLARIS is positioned as an experimental tool for the establishment of a local marine observatory, through the development of technical and pedagogical expertise in the acquisition of standardized data, for long-term monitoring by the diver-citizen.

POLARIS is initiating a new local dynamic by bringing together coastal stakeholders around common objectives, reflecting the knowledge, preservation and management of this environment. It is an operational platform for collaboration between citizen sciences and research in marine ecology applied to territorial management.

It offers activities to learn how to observe, contribute to the collection of data to complement scientific actions, train citizens to practice scuba diving with ecological interest, inform and support local policies for their environmental management.

This field platform develops methods and tools adapted to different actors according to their needs, wishes and skills. Built according to a collaborative, scientific and educational approach, it includes several interconnected components of actions, which involve a multiplicity of actors to contribute to the knowledge and common management of the marine environment.

Through a voluntary contribution, the diver positions himself as an actor in his observation; he relies on catalogues of observations with multiple themes to choose his observation which guides him in the species to observe and the methods to be used.
To learn more about POLARIS:
Monitoring
Research programs

Septentrion environment positions itself as a technical expert for the development of the protocols to be followed and for the learning to the environmental observation as well as the methods employed.

For more information about POLARUIS and its mobile app : POLARIS flyer and contact Laura BARTH : laura.barth@septentrion-env.com

Underwater duplex

An invitation to an underwater trip away from the physical and technical barriers associated with immersion.

The duplex is a tool that we use to discover the underwater heritage (ecological, archaeological and cultural), to communicate on environmental developments (artificial reefs, protection modules for dykes or spawning grounds and nurseries...), or to demonstrate underwater techniques (specific field investigations, tek diving, visits to beacons or instrumentation lines...)

Facing an on-board screen, the images of marine life filmed live, parade under the eyes of the public.The underwater diver-animator appears on the screen and comments instantly on what he or she observes. Thanks to a transmitter/receiver communication system, a real conversation is initiated between the audience, spect'Actor, who remained dry, and the diver who is evolving nearby. The public is located in the immediate vicinity of the site (on board or ashore in a room) or further away with Internet retransmission.This animation can thus include an audience with diversified profiles (general public or professionals) and be of variyng sizes.

The discovery is made throughout the animation, the public evolves with the diver animator he follows and questions all along his submerged course.

The underwater duplex is suitable for a variety of terrain, from the bottom of creeks to the walls, from coastal space to the open sea.

Duplex gear

  • control room for the transmission of sound and image
  • HD underwater camera with lighting
  • underwater communication system

Environmental diving school

From « flippered » excursion to deep diving, our explorations are an opportunity to discover the landscapes and the marine world.

Combining technique, environmental approach and discovery of the marine environment, Septentrion Environnement takes its members on a discovery of the Marseille coastline, in and around the Calanques National Park, the Riou and Frioul archipelagos.

Aboard CroMagnon, a famous boat steeped in history from our creeks and recently renovated by the association, our outings combine educational exchanges and moments of conviviality. Our ambition: to cross-fertilize knowledge, train biologists in diving, train divers in biology or both!

Septentrion Environnement provides qualifying technical training, from child diving to the training of future instructors.

The experience of our supervisors allows us to diversify the potential of the training courses offered. It offers our members the possibility to go towards mixed diving, rebreather, first aid diving, photography

From snorkeling to deep diving, our explorations are an opportunity to discover the landscapes, to scientific initiation and participatory science.

Our outings combine the discovery of the underwater world, between coastal culture and ecological heritage in and around the Calanques National Park.

Our boat is moored at the INPP -Port de la Pointe Rouge 13008 Marseille - in the south harbour (with disabled access).

More information

Cromagnon

Alongside its 7th owner, CroMagnon is earning its place on the list of underwater archaeological stories....

Story

Between the Channel and the Mediterranean, sometimes making river or island stops, CroMagnon (formerly "Ace of Hearts") has crossed more than 1/2 century of maritime history, leading captains and sailors steeped in salt adventures in her wake.

With more than 60 years of existence, the boat has a diversified and eloquent CV, nourished by services provided in professional fishing, technical and recreative underwater divings.

Trawler, caseyeur and longliner on the Atlantic coast, CroMagnon turned her back on her native ocean (from the Beneteau shipyard in Saint Gilles Croix de Vie) at the end of the 1970s to cross over to the Mediterranean Sea displaying the "orange" booklet of pleasure craft. From then on, her various owners found her a charm as a travelling companion whose good manners we want to share. High school students, associations and the world of diving embarked on board for Corsica, then the Rhône, then again the Provençal coast after a round trip to Normandy (!!!!). It's a sea-sharing boat!

Alongside her 7th owner, CroMagnon earned its place in 1991 on the list of archaeological underwater stories; she was Henri Cosquer's adventure companion, inventor (i.e discoverer) of the rocky underwater cave located in the territory of the Calanques de Marseille National Park.

After almost 30 years of figuration at the port of Cassis around the Cassidain Diving Club founded by Henri Cosquer, CroMagnon is now in Marseilles at the INPP, tied to the landing stage of heritage boats.

Acquired by the association in 2014, the boat continues her adventure in the service of a living space that is dear to her: the Mediterranean Sea, its exploration, its environment and its culture.

Shipyard

CroMagnon is both our number one work tool and the link between all the association's activities with the admitted, members and partners it welcomes.

In a desire to conduct her around diversified activities taking place all year round, we have undertaken over two construction campaigns the partial refurbishment of the boat to adapt this tool in line with the needs of the association's activities. Thus, she can welcome a large and mixed public, from children to adults, to people with reduced mobility around recreational diving or scientific investigation.

Our ship features

  • Type : Wooden fishing smack boat
  • Dimensions: 12 meters long (39 feet), beam of 4m20 (14 ft)
  • Capacity: 20 people maximum
  • The advantages: Lifting arm and lift
  • Cruising speed : 7 knots

 

 

en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_USEnglish

Outils

Photogrammétrie

S’affranchir des contraintes du milieu grâce à la modélisation 3D.

L’exploration et l’acquisition de connaissance sur le patrimoine immergé se confrontent à la difficulté d’accès au monde sous-marin. Le développement de la photographie et de l’informatique rend aujourd’hui possible la réalisation de relevés de terrain d’envergure grâce à la photogrammétrie.

Basé sur le principe de la stéréoscopie, il s’agit de produire un modèle 3D issu de l’identification de points homologues au sein d’un jeu de photos 2D. Les modèles offrent une représentation conforme à la réalité avec un niveau de résolution maximum.

La cartographie fine

  • Modélisation de structures complexe
  • Approche multi-échelle
  • Caractérisation de la complexité structurelle

 

La mesure

  • Acquisition de données métriques multiples (distances, surface, volume) et complexes
  • Fiabilité et précision de la mesure
  • Evaluation des évolutions temporelles

Les atouts

  • Mise en œuvre légère
  • Temps d’investigation réduit
  • Méthode non invasive

Quelques réalisations : www.arpenteur.org

POLARIS

POLARIS est une plateforme technique et pédagogique pour la promotion et le développement des sciences collaboratives.

Concrétisée en 2016, POLARIS se positionne comme outil expérimental pour la mise en place d’un observatoire du milieu marin, à l’échelle locale, par la mise en valeur d’une expertise technique et pédagogique en acquisition de données standardisées par le plongeur-citoyen.

POLARIS initie une nouvelle dynamique locale en rassemblant des acteurs du littoral autour d’objectifs communs, faisant écho à la connaissance, la préservation et la gestion de ce milieu. Il s’agit d’une plateforme de terrain pour observer, contribuer à la collecte de données venant compléter des actions scientifiques et former les citoyens à pratiquer la plongée sous-marine avec un intérêt environnemental.

Cette plateforme opérationnelle développe des méthodes et outils adaptés à différents acteurs selon leurs besoins, volontés et compétences. Construite selon une démarche collaborative, scientifique et pédagogique, elle comprend plusieurs volets d’actions, interconnectés, qui impliquent une multiplicité d’acteurs pour contribuer à la connaissance et la gestion commune du milieu marin.

A travers une contribution volontaire, le plongeur se positionne comme acteur de son observation ; il s’appuie sur des catalogues d’observations à thématiques multiples pour choisir son observation qui le guide dans les espèces à observer, les méthodes à employer.

Septentrion Environnement se positionne comme expert technique pour le développement des protocoles à suivre et l’apprentissage à l’observation environnementale ainsi qu’aux méthodes employées.

Pour en savoir plus sur POLARIS :

Duplex sous-marin

Une invitation au voyage sous-marin loin des barrières physiques et techniques liées à l’immersion.

Le duplex est un outil que nous utilisons pour de la découverte du patrimoine immergé (écologique, archéologique et culturel), pour communiquer sur des aménagements environnementaux (récifs artificiels, modules de protection de digue ou de zones de frayères et de nurseries…), ou encore pour faire des démonstrations de techniques subaquatiques (investigations de terrain spécifiques, plongée tek, visites de balises ou lignes d’instrumentations…)

Face à un écran embarqué, les images de la vie marine filmée en direct, défilent sous les yeux du public ; le plongeur-animateur immergé apparaît à l’écran et commente en instantané ce qu’il observe. Grâce à un moyen de communication d’émetteur/récepteur, une véritable conversation s’enclenche entre le public, spect’Acteur, resté au sec, et le plongeur animateur évoluant à proximité. Le public est situé à proximité immédiate du site (embarqué ou à terre en salle) ou plus éloigné bénéficiant d’une retransmission internet. Cette animation peut ainsi compter un public à profils diversifiés (grand public ou professionnels) et être à dimension variable.

La découverte se fait tout au long de l’animation, le public évolue avec le plongeur animateur qu’il suit et questionne sur l’ensemble de son parcours immergé.

Le duplex sous-marin est adapté à des terrains variés, du fond de calanques au faciès types tombants, de l’espace côtier à la haute mer.

Matériel duplex :

  • une régie pour la transmission du son et de l’image
  • une caméra sous-marine HD muni d’éclairage
  • un système de communication subaquatique

École de plongée environnementale

De la randonnée palmée à la plongée profonde, nos explorations sont prétextes à la découverte des paysages et du monde marin.

Alliant technique, approche environnementale et découverte du milieu marin, Septentrion Environnement emmène ses adhérents à la découverte du littoral marseillais, au sein et aux alentours du Parc national des Calanques, de l’archipel de Riou et du Frioul.

A bord de CroMagnon, célèbre bateau empreint d’histoire (de nos calanques) et récemment rénové par l’association, nos sorties mêlent échanges pédagogiques et moments de convivialité. Notre ambition : croiser les connaissances, former les biologistes à la plongée, former les plongeurs à la biologie ou les deux à la fois !

Septentrion Environnement dispense des formations techniques qualifiantes, de la plongée enfant jusqu’à la formation des futurs moniteurs.

L’expérience de nos encadrants permet de diversifier le potentiel des formations proposées. Elle offre la possibilité à nos adhérents d’aller vers la plongée mélange, le recycleur, le secourisme en plongée, la photographie, etc.

De la randonnée palmée à la plongée profonde, nos explorations sont prétextes à la découverte des paysages, à l’initiation scientifique et à la science participative.

Nos sorties combinent découverte du monde subaquatique, entre culture littorale et patrimoine écologique dans et aux alentours du Parc national des Calanques.

Notre bateau est amarré à la Base Nautique du Roucas Blanc – Site de la Ville de Marseille – 6 Avenue G. Pompidou 13008 Marseille – en rade sud (avec accès handicapé).

Plus d’information :

Cromagnon

Auprès de son 7ème propriétaire, CroMagnon gagne sa place au palmarès des histoires sous-marines archéologiques…

Historique

Entre manche et Méditerranée, faisant parfois des escales fluviales ou insulaires, CroMagnon (anciennement « As de Cœur ») a traversé plus d’1/2 siècle d’histoire maritime entraînant dans son sillage des capitaines et marins imprégnés d’aventures salées.

Avec plus de 60 ans d’existence, le bateau présente un CV diversifié et éloquent, nourri de services rendus en pêche professionnelle, en plongée subaquatique technique et de loisir.

Chalutier, caseyeur puis palangrier sur les côtes atlantiques, CroMagnon tourna le dos à son océan natal (sorti du chantier Beneteau de Saint Gilles Croix de Vie) dès la fin des années 1970 pour croiser en mer Méditerranée en affichant le livret « orange » de la plaisance. Dès lors, ses différents propriétaires lui trouvent un charme de compagnon de voyage dont on a envie de faire partager la bonhommie. Des lycéens, le monde associatif et celui de la plongée embarquent à son bord pour la Corse, puis le Rhône, puis de nouveau le littoral provençal après un aller-retour en Normandie (!!!). C’est un bateau de partage de la mer !

Auprès de son 7ème propriétaire, CroMagnon gagne sa place au palmarès des histoires sous-marines archéologiques ; il sera le compagnon d’aventure d’Henri Cosquer inventeur (découvreur), en 1991, de la grotte sous-marine rupestre située sur le territoire du Parc national des Calanques de Marseille.

Après presque 30 ans de figuration au port de Cassis autour du Club de Plongée Cassidain fondé par Henri Cosquer, CroMagnon se trouve désormais à Marseille à la base nautique du Roucas Blanc sur la panne des bateaux patrimoniaux.

Acquis par l’association en 2014, le bateau poursuit son aventure au service d’un espace de vie qui lui est cher : la Méditerranée, son exploration, son environnement et sa culture.

Le chantier

CroMagnon est à la fois notre outil de travail n°1 et le liant de toutes les activités de l’association auprès des admis, adhérents et partenaires qu’il accueille.

Dans une volonté de le conduire autour d’activités diversifiées se déroulant à l’année, nous avons engagé sur deux campagnes de chantier la réfection partielle du bateau élargie à des travaux d’adaptation de l’outil en cohérence avec les besoins des activités de l’association. Ainsi, il peut accueillir un public large et mixte, de l’enfant à l’adulte, aux personnes à mobilité réduite autour de la plongée loisir ou de l’investigation scientifique

Caractéristiques

  • Type : Bateau pinasse bois
  • Dimensions : 12 mètres de long, 4m20 de large
  • Capacité :20 personnes maximum
  • Les + : Potence de relevage et lève-personne
  • Vitesse de croisière 7 noeuds